Claim Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf - University of Applied Sciences

Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences

In October 2019, the project 'Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences' was launched at HSWT. The project is part of Network Africa at the Centre for International Affairs and is an important component of HSWT’s internationalisation strategy. The 'Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences' is sponsored by the Bavarian State Chancellery.

Agriculture in Ethiopia

By establishing this alliance, HSWT’s mission is to create a network of Ethiopian partners in the field of academia and higher education, and to share its expertise on the topic of 'applied teaching'. By doing this, HSWT wants to take the model of applied science universities – as has been practised by HSWT for nearly 50 years – and to work actively with its Ethiopian partners to adapt and develop the model to their situation. Within this project, HSWT is focusing on the key issues of agriculture and forestry, as well as biotechnology, horticulture, food processing, environmental planning and environmental protection. At many universities in Ethiopia, teaching in subjects in the areas mentioned is predominantly based on theory, which is why graduates sometimes lack the knowledge to implement what they have learned as effectively as possible in their professional lives. By increasing the level of practice-based teaching with partners from industry and government institutions, we are able to improve graduates’ career prospects and contribute to Ethiopia’s economic development. HSWT plans to establish a sustainable network of educational institutions and partners in the industry, creating a platform for exchange that benefits everyone involved. To achieve this, HSWT is drawing upon its varied and extensive experience, and especially its networks of industry partners. Synergistic effects should be created particularly by the existing HSWT project 'Training pact with Africa', which is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and the German Corporation for International Cooperation (GIZ).

Establishing the 'Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences' should achieve the following objectives:

  • The existence of an extensive network of Ethiopian and Bavarian partners in the field of applied teaching, including partners from science, industry and the public sector.
  • It is clear which practical elements of the applied university model will be included in the curriculum of the Ethiopian universities, with the practical elements set to be introduced in close collaboration between the Ethiopian and Bavarian partners.
  • The lecturer and student exchange programme (also for theses) between the HSWT and Ethiopian partner universities has been expanded.

So far, our project partners in Ethiopia consist of the following universities:

Due to the coronavirus crisis, it is currently not possible to press ahead with the project with people meeting together in person either at the Ethiopian universities or at HSWT in Weihenstephan, as planned. It was all the more gratifying that an initial virtual meeting was able to take place on 19 August 2020. 24 participants gathered at a video conference to get to know each other, introduce their institutions and share advantages, experiences and challenges in the field of applied teaching in life sciences. As the next step for the alliance, follow-up workshops will take place from November 2020 to February 2021, which will focus on applied teaching in specific subject areas. All virtual meetings are intended to act as preparation for the Ethiopian partners visiting Weihenstephan in person, which will go ahead as soon as current circumstances allow. The sponsorship of the alliance by the Bavarian State Chancellery is part of the Free State of Bavaria’s efforts to promote stability and development in Africa. Both the 'Africa strategy' of the Bavarian state government, as well as the 'Africa package' devised in 2019 by the Minister President of Bavaria, Dr Markus Söder, have a particular focus on Ethiopia. Bavaria is particularly concerned with funding projects for academic and professional development (link to the German website) which help to improve economic prospects within Ethiopia.

Project management

Project duration

01 October 2019 - 31 December 2020

Project sponsor

Bavarian State Chancellery (Bayerische Staatskanzlei)

Claim Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf - University of Applied Sciences

Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences

Im Oktober 2019 fiel der Startschuss für das Projekt "Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences" an der Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf. Das Projekt ist Teil des Network Africa am Zentrum für Internationales und ein wichtiger Baustein der Internationalisierungsstrategie der HSWT. Die "Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences" wird von der Bayerischen Staatskanzlei gefördert.

Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des virtuellen Auftakttreffens der Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences (2020)
Landwirtschaft in Äthiopien

Mit der Allianz verfolgt die HSWT die Absicht, ein Netzwerk mit äthiopischen Partnern im Bereich der akademischen Aus- und Weiterbildung aufzubauen und ihre Expertise im Bereich angewandte Lehre einzubringen. Hierbei möchte die HSWT das Modell der Hochschulen für angewandte Wissenschaften – wie sie es selbst seit nahezu 50 Jahren praktiziert – aktiv mit äthiopischen Partnern für deren Bedürfnisse weiterentwickeln. Dabei fokussiert die HSWT auf die eigenen Schwerpunkte Land- und Forstwirtschaft sowie Biotechnologie, Gartenbau, Weiterverarbeitung von Lebensmitteln, Umweltplanung und Umweltschutz. An vielen Hochschulen Äthiopiens ist die Lehre in Fächern der genannten Bereiche stark theoriebasiert, weshalb es Absolventinnen und Absolventen im Berufsleben bisweilen an Wissen zur optimalen praktischen Umsetzung des Gelernten mangelt. Eine verstärkt praxisnahe Ausbildung mit Partnern aus Industrie und staatlichen Einrichtungen soll die beruflichen Chancen der Alumni verbessern und zur wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung Äthiopiens beitragen. Die HSWT plant, ein langfristiges Netzwerk von Bildungseinrichtungen und Praxispartnern aufzubauen, in dem alle Beteiligten vom gegenseitigen Austausch profitieren. Hier können die vielfältigen und umfassenden Erfahrungen und besonders auch die praxisbezogenen Netzwerke der HSWT genutzt werden. Insbesondere mit dem bestehenden HSWT-Projekt "Ausbildungspakt mit Afrika", welches vom Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) sowie der Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) gefördert wird, sollen Synergieeffekte entstehen.

Nach Durchführung der "Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences" sollen folgende Ziele erreicht sein:

  • Es besteht ein fundiertes Netzwerk im Bereich angewandter Lehre zwischen äthiopischen und bayerischen Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Industrie und öffentlichem Sektor
  • Es ist klar, welche praktischen Elemente des angewandten Hochschulmodells in das Curriculum der äthiopischen Universitäten aufgenommen wird, wobei die Einführung der praktischen Elemente in enger Zusammenarbeit zwischen äthiopischen und bayerischen Partnern erfolgt
  • Der Dozierenden- und Studierendenaustausch (auch für Abschlussarbeiten) zwischen der HSWT und den äthiopischen Partneruniversitäten ist ausgebaut

Äthiopische Projektpartner sind bislang die folgenden Universitäten:

Durch die aktuelle Coronakrise kann das Projekt derzeit nicht wie geplant im persönlichen Austausch bei den äthiopischen Partneruniversitäten oder an der HSWT in Weihenstephan durchgeführt werden. Umso erfreulicher war es, dass ein erstes virtuelles Treffen am 19. August 2020 stattfinden konnte. 24 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer fanden sich zu einer Videokonferenz ein, um sich kennenzulernen, ihre Institutionen vorzustellen und sich über Vorteile, Erfahrungen sowie Herausforderungen im Bereich der angewandten Lehre in den Lebenswissenschaften auszutauschen. Als nächste Schritte der Allianz finden von November 2020 bis Februar 2021 Folgeworkshops statt, welche angewandte Lehre in spezifischen Fachbereichen fokussieren. Alle virtuellen Treffen dienen der Vorbereitung für einen Besuch äthiopischer Projektpartner in Weihenstephan, welcher stattfindet, sobald die aktuelle Coronasituation es zulässt. Die Förderung der Allianz durch die Bayerische Staatskanzlei ist Teil der Afrika-Aktivitäten des Freistaats. Sowohl die Afrikastrategie der Bayerischen Staatsregierung als auch das vom bayerischen Ministerpräsident Dr. Markus Söder 2019 ins Leben gerufene Afrikapaket misst Äthiopien besondere Bedeutung zu. Bayern fokussiert im Besonderen die Förderung von Projekten zu schulischer und beruflicher Bildung, welche wirtschaftliche Perspektiven in Äthiopien schaffen.

Projektleitung

Projektdauer

01.10.2019 - 31.12.2020

Projektförderung

Bayerische Staatskanzlei