Claim Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf - University of Applied Sciences
Network Africa

Network Africa

The aim of Network Africa is to promote the exchange of ideas, knowledge, concepts, and even people, between African universities and Weihenstephan-Triesdorf University of Applied Sciences (HSWT) in the field of applied academic training in the life sciences. This is intended to help address the many challenges facing African agriculture, and beyond. Challenges include meeting the increasing demand for food due to a growing population and limited space; combating the effects of climate change; increasing the productivity of smallholder agriculture; minimising losses in harvesting, storage and transport, as well as the processing of agricultural products to increase their added value. Network Africa aims to make agricultural training in Africa, which is often very theoretical, much more application-specific by incorporating in more practical elements. In this respect, HSWT, which places a firm emphasis on practice-oriented teaching and research in the field of life sciences and technologies, in line with the motto 'Applied Sciences for Life', could serve as a model for the African universities.

Network Africa aims to help develop a society of knowledge in African countries, as the core facet of a stable and functioning society and as the basis for a successful business location. This should help pave the way to creating new jobs, supporting small-scale farming operations in their efforts to sustainably increasing production and income, and shifting value creation to rural areas of Africa.

HSWT has been collaborating with African partners on various projects for many years now. Among the many projects undertaken, major initiatives include the 'Training Pact with Africa' (Ausbildungspakt mit Afrika), under which the postgraduate course 'Foodchains in Agriculture' is run. This is sponsored by the Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and the German Agency for International Cooperation (GIZ) as part of the global strategy 'Green Innovation Centres for the Agriculture and Food Sector' (GIC), as well as the recently launched 'Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences', which is funded by the Bavarian State Chancellery as part of the 'Bayerische Afrikapaket' (or 'Bavarian Africa package' – an initiative to help promote stability and development in African countries).

Contact Weihenstephan

Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf
Centre for International Affairs
Weihenstephaner Berg 5
85354 Freising

Contact Triesdorf

Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf
Markgrafenstr. 16
91746 Weidenbach

Project partners

BayWa Foundation

Certification

Total E-Quality and Diversity label

Claim Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf - University of Applied Sciences
Network Africa

Network Africa

Das Network Africa hat den partnerschaftlichen Austausch von Ideen, Wissen, Konzepten und Personen zwischen afrikanischen Hochschulen und der Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf (HSWT) im Bereich der angewandten, akademischen Ausbildung in den Lebenswissenschaften zum Ziel. Dadurch soll ein Beitrag zu den zahlreichen Herausforderungen der afrikanischen Landwirtschaft - und darüber hinaus - geleistet werden. Zu den Herausforderungen zählen u.a. die steigende Nachfrage nach Nahrungsmitteln aufgrund einer wachsenden Bevölkerung bei begrenzter Fläche, Auswirkungen des Klimawandels, Steigerung der Produktivität der kleinbäuerlichen Landwirtschaft, Minimierung der Verluste bei Ernte, Lagerung und Transport sowie die Weiterverarbeitung landwirtschaftlicher Produkte zu Steigerung der Wertschöpfung. Das Network Africa hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, durch eine stärkere Einbeziehung praktischer Elemente die häufig sehr theoretisch ausgerichtete landwirtschaftliche Ausbildung in Afrika deutlich praxisorientierter zu gestalten. Dabei soll die HSWT mit der umfassend praxisorientierten Lehre und Forschung im Bereich der Lebenswissenschaften und Technologien nach dem Leitsatz "Applied Sciences for Life" als Vorbild dienen.

Das Network Africa hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, einen Beitrag zur Wissensgesellschaft in afrikanischen Ländern als Nukleus einer stabilen und funktionierenden Gesellschaft sowie als Basis eines erfolgreichen Wirtschaftsstandortes zu leisten. Dadurch können neue Arbeitsplätze geschaffen, kleinbäuerliche Betriebe bei der nachhaltigen Produktions- und Einkommenssteigerung unterstützt und die Wertschöpfung in den ländlichen afrikanischen Raum verlagert werden.

Die HSWT beteiligt sich schon seit mehreren Jahren an verschiedenen Projekten mit afrikanischen Partnern. Dazu zählen besonders der "Ausbildungspakt mit Afrika" - in dessen Rahmen u.a. der Postgraduiertenkurs "Foodchains in Agriculture" stattfindet - gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Entwicklung und Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit (BMZ) und die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) im Rahmen des Globalvorhabens Grüne Innovationszentren in der Agrar- und Ernährungswirtschaft (GIAE) sowie die kürzlich gestartete "Bavarian-Ethiopian Alliance for Applied Life Sciences" gefördert durch die Bayerische Staatskanzlei im Rahmen des Bayrischen Afrikapakets.

Anschrift Weihenstephan

Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf
Zentrum für Internationales
Weihenstephaner Berg 5
85354 Freising

Anschrift Triesdorf

Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf
Markgrafenstr. 16
91746 Weidenbach

Projektpartner

BayWa Stiftung

Englisches Informationsmaterial für internationale Interessenten

The Concept of German Universities of Applied Sciences (HAWs) - The example of HSWT

Dual Study at HSWT

Zertifizierungen

Total E-Quality

EMAS-Urkunde